Skip to main content


Press Release

Representatives of 164 States parties, observer States and dozens of international and civil society organizations are gathering in Geneva between 26 and 30 November 2015 for the Seventeenth Meeting of the States Parties to the Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on Their Destruction (“Ottawa Convention” or Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention).

The meeting will see States addressing challenges faced in implementing the Convention and the Maputo Action Plan - a five-year road-map to implement the Convention - adopted at the 2014 Maputo Third Review Conference, as well as assessing the operation of the Convention and the functioning of its implementation machinery. In addition, the meeting will feature debates on requests for extensions on the Convention’s obligation to clear mined areas.

The meeting is presided over by Ambassador Suraya Dalil of Afghanistan. A high level opening ceremony on 26 November featured addresses by the Foreign Minister of Afghanistan, HE Salahuddin Rabbani, HRH Prince Mired Al-Hussein of Jordan, representatives of ICRC, GICHD and the International Campaign to ban Landmines (ACBL).

The meeting will conclude its work on Friday, 30 November, with the adoption of a final report.

About the Ottawa Convention:

The Convention was adopted in Oslo on 18 September 1997 and opened for signature in Ottawa 3-4 December 1997 at a ceremony that featured the participation of UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan. For their determination in calling for the Convention, the International Campaign to Ban Landmines was awarded the 1997 Nobel Peace Prize.

The purpose of the Convention is “to put an end to the suffering and casualties caused by anti-personnel mines.” It seeks to fulfill this purpose through the pursuit of four core aims:

  • Universal acceptance of a ban on AP mines.
  • The destruction of stockpiled AP mines.
  • The clearance of mined areas.
  • Providing assistance to mine victims.

The Convention entered into force on 1 March 1999. A total of 164 States have ratified or acceded to the Convention so far.

For use of the information media; not an official record