Pasar al contenido principal


Press Release
Adopts Concluding Observations and Recommendations on the Reports of Switzerland, Israel, Ecuador, Senegal, Denmark and Slovakia

The Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights this afternoon closed its sixty-sixth session during which it reviewed the reports of Switzerland, Israel, Ecuador, Senegal, Denmark and Slovakia on the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.

The Committee’s concluding observations and recommendations on the six countries considered during the session will be available on Monday, 21 October in the afternoon on the session’s webpage. Press releases on the public meetings during which the reports were considered are available on the website of the United Nations Office at Geneva, while webcast of the Committee’s public meetings can be accessed here.

In his concluding remarks, Renato Zerbini Ribeiro Leão, Committee Chairperson, noted that once again it had been a busy session. On the Committee’s work under the Optional Protocol, the Committee had examined three communications of which two were found inadmissible and one had been found to amount to a violation of the right to adequate housing. The Committee had also decided to discontinue the examination of 12 individual communications. The decisions would be notified to the parties and be made public shortly.

The Committee had also had a discussion day in the context of its work to develop a General Comment on the Covenant and land. The Committee planned to have the draft General Comment made available publicly in the course of 2020 and would invite inputs.

The Chairperson recalled a special, sad, moment of the session, when the Committee paid tribute to its dear colleague and former Chair, Waleed Sadi, who had sadly passed away just over 10 days ago. He was a much loved and active member of the Committee.

During the upcoming sixty-seventh session, to be held from 17 February to 6 March 2020, the Committee will consider the reports of Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Guinea, Norway and Ukraine.

For use of the information media; not an official record